Torah Teaching – Sabbath Service January 4, 2014

Posted: January 4, 2014 in Everyday Life Rules

Staying Connected

Scripture References: Psalms 119:133; Romans 1:16, 8:14; Hebrews 4; Psalm 95:7-8; Isaiah 66:23; Jeremiah 29:11

We all have accountability for what we ask of God. It is something how we often put God on the back burner, yet we still ask him to do things for us, to fix this or that, and more. It is up to us to pursue Yahweh (God) daily. Hebrews chapter 4 tells us, no matter what happens in our life to make sure we stay on track with Yahweh. If we fall off track, get back on track and allow nothing to come in-between the relationship we have with God. While sin is always present, we should not allow it to rule over us. If we want the word of God to lead us, then we must study his word and speak his word. In the book of Isaiah 66:23, we learn that we are never to turn away from the Holy Day, the Sabbath. “Every month on Rosh-Hodesh and every week on Shabbat, everyone living will come to worship in my presence,” says ADONAI. (Isaiah 66:23). We cannot go day after day, year after year and not study his word. There should not be a moment lived in our life where we are not in communication with God. Staying connected with Yahweh is easier than many think. Here are a few steps I take to assure that I remain connected with him.

  • Pray as soon as you awake. It is important that the moment you wake up you take time to thank God for waking you up. Then proceed to ask him to guide you throughout the day. My prayer usually goes something like this, Father I thank you for waking me up this morning. I thank you for allowing my body to function in the order in which you have created it to operate. Thank you for all that you have in store for me to encounter on this day. For the lives I will pour into and those that will pour into me. I ask that you use me today, speak through me, and allow me to see things through your eyes. Renew my mind; let my mind be in you. Amen!
  • Anoint your body when you bathe. It is important that we anoint ourselves. This is how we speak over and cover ourselves. During this time dispatch your angels to go before you, to cover you, and ask the Holy Spirit to guide you throughout the day.
  • Read a chapter. It only takes a moment to read one chapter. You can read a chapter of your bible instead of a magazine or newspaper, while eating your breakfast. You will find that God will lead you to the chapter that is needed in that very moment of your life.
  • Open your mouth. When God tells you to say something, speak. Too often do we ask that God use yet when he instructs us to speak, we buckle. It can be something as small as saying hello to a complete stranger.
  • Close your day with a prayer and chapter. What a great way to end your day, in the presence of God. I love just talking to God and thanking him for all my experiences during the day. This is the time where I reflect on the day, I learn what I did right, what I could have possibly done better or what I missed. God begins preparing me mentally and emotionally for the day to come. Then as I begin to drift into the atmosphere, God takes me where he desires. Yes, you have read that correctly, God wants to take us spiritually into many places but this cannot happen if we do not remain connected to him.

My prayer is that today’s message will reach you right where you are and transform the relationship you have with God. I want to close out with something my 6-year-old daughter said to us in service that was so profound. She said, “If you open the door you will get power, relationship, spoken, pick a word and read.”

Leave a Reply

